Every Fall Since 1993

Peter Matthiessen

Peter Matthiessen
Photo Credit: Jesse Close - Heroshots, LLC

Peter Matthiessen is a novelist and nonfiction writer with a long career exploring vanishing cultures, oppressed people, and exotic wildlife and landscapes. He has been called "one of the shamans of literature," and he won the 2008 National Book Award for his novel Shadow Country, the re-crafting of his "Watson" trilogy originally published in the 1990s. 

In the award-winning PBS documentary "Peter Matthiessen: No Boundaries" the author of more than 30 acclaimed books revealed that despite his immeasurable success in nonfiction accounts of expeditions, science and environmental activism, writing fiction is his true love. Matthiessen founded the Paris Review in 1953 and was its first fiction editor.  His fourth novel, At Play in the Fields of the Lord (1965) was nominated for a National Book Award, but it was his return to nonfiction and publication of The Snow Leopard that earned his first National Book Award in 1980.

"I like to hear and smell the countryside, the land my characters inhabit. I don't want these characters to step off the page, I want them to step out of the landscape," Matthiessen says.

Buy a Copy